Circle of Magic: Sandry’s Book

Sandry’s Book by Tamora Pierce is about four kids who are believed to have no magic in them. When a man called Nikolaren Goldeye finds them caught in various situations, he sees that they do have magic, but that it is different from most mages. Sandry has magic through weaving, Daja has hers in fire and metal, Tris’s in the weather, and Briar’s in plants and earth. Niko takes them back to Winding Circle, a temple of the four elements, for them to be trained and looked after. But earth quakes of various sizes are happening constantly, and it looks like one massive earthquake is on the move towards Winding Circle, and they must do something to calm it so that it doesn’t rip apart the country. Sandry must weave together the magic of the four to have a chance of surviving, but resisting nature is almost impossible! The friends will have to fight it with everything they have.

I loved this series! The characters were fabulous, and the writing was very good as well. I can’t even begin to say how much I enjoyed myself while reading this. I admit, I wasn’t sure about it in the beginning, but when the plot started to really take form, I found I couldn’t put it down! My mom occasionally would occasionally have to yell at me to notice that she was calling me to dinner because I was so wrapped up in it. I would say this book is for nine and up, and I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

